Based on the decision of the Royal Swedish Science Academy on the 3rd of October 2023, this year’s Nobel Prize in physics was awarded to Ferenc Krausz, Pierre Agostini and Anne L’Huiller, shared equally, for their research into methods that generate attosecond pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in matter. Their achievements make possible the better understanding of molecular structural changes, which in turn may lead to the development of new medical imaging processes and advancements in the field of pharmaceutical development.


Ferenc Krausz studied electrical engineering at the Budapest University of Technology and physics at the Eötvös Loránd University in Budapest in parallel. In 1991, he received his doctorate in quantum electronics from the Vienna University of Technology, where he is a professor from 1999. Since 2003, he is the director at the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, and since 2004, he is the head of department of experimental physics at the Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich.